The magical time between day and night

light trees

I love to walk when there is enough light to see and feel, but not enough for definition.  The sun in slowly sinking, or rising and literally painting the sky.  It makes me realise that whatever we do with a brush or paint (or even a camera) we will never be able to capture the multi-layered complexity of natural light at dusk and dawn.

This series of photos was taken at the Museum of Country Life, in County Mayo in Ireland.  On this occassion I didn’t get to see the museum, well worth a visit, but had the opportunity of walking the grounds.  Of course I had my camera and was a bit annoying because I kept on stopping to make an attempt at capturing the moment.

It was a night to remember as my companion and I got locked in.  It was my first visit and I didn’t realise what time the gates closed, and if fact that they had closed behind us only a half an hour after we had arrived.

A very nice gentleman in charge of security approached us and explained that the museum had closed over an hour before, but as we seemed to be enjoying the walk, he didn’t want to disturb us.  We were kindly shown the back way out!

The best part of being a camera carrier is having the visual reminders of what made us smile.

Thanks for looking and I hope these photos inspire you (and me) to put those trainers on a walk, without headphones or distractions.  Walk and enjoy the sights and sounds around us.

Kerry

light trees 3lighty trees2

About Kerry Manning

I am a creative person primarily, with a keen interest in all things, arty, and a new convert to fitness. I work in marketing and find it hard to switch that off. View all posts by Kerry Manning

Leave a comment